Quiet Hours

11/13/2022

First of all, before I begin to ramble, I wanted to thank everyone whose started following me on here! I appreciate support on this creative endeavour, as I'm pretty new to keeping a consistent blogging platform outside of tumblr, and tumblr can barely be called a "blog" to begin with. Thank you for being here!

Now onto the night's rambling.

I went to go get groceries with my mom earlier this evening. It was at around that perfect hour before the sky fully turns dark blue, but not far after the sun has slumped past the horizon. The edges of the world were tinged in pinks and purples, and the sky was cold and powder-blue, just beginning to darken. I think that that's my favourite time of day in the late-fall/winters. I love watching the trees grow bare and the hours of sunlight knit tighter and tighter together, having to preserve every bit of sun we get. I do hate that I'm waking up late these days, though. It's tiring to wake when the sun is beginning to set.

We got our things from the grocery and by the time we left, it had been dark for quite a while. I love the night and the stars and the streetlamps. I can't get enough of the world at night, but I do wish it weren't so damn cold. It was in the 70s only a few days ago, and now it's in the 30s. Fahrenheit, of course, I'm not quite sure what those would be in Celsius.

In the book I've been working on, my main character works as a barista, and since the story is set in the early winter, this is the weather that I've been imagining for him all along. I started writing up descriptions and bits of the storyline months ago, when it was still warm, so to finally be in the world I see in my book in terms of season, to feel it when I step outside to get the mail or when I'm in my room with my space heater on, it's lovely to really be immersed in his world. I can feel the things he feels when he's in his apartment, when he's thinking of what to do with his day, or when waiting for that tense meeting or phone call he's been awaiting from old friends. It's definitely been helping me imagine things much clearer.

I'm hoping to do a digital scenery painting of the view from inside the coffee shop, where he can see the world outside and the snow piling up. It hasn't snowed here, though, so I guess I don't get to be that immersed yet. I've also got to work on my conlang, the language of their world, the alphabet, etc etc. I had an idea for the alphabet, but I wound up not liking it and I found it inconsistent and hard to imagine being used to sign paperwork, send messages to friends, printed in textbooks and scrolled across news feeds and highway signs. So, I've gotta rework it again, I think. This time with more care to making it feel natural and vibrant. I'll see what I can find in terms of resources and work on it a bit more.

I'm also trying to find a decent free image host. I don't want to use up all my storage space here on Neocities trying to host my artwork in a little folder, so I'm trying to find a place I can store my sketches. I want an image host where you can't search me on google, but I can link images and put them on here, so I don't have to make a full profile and make it look nice and presentable to people browsing that site instead of this one. We'll see what I can find, but I would absolutely appreciate any suggestions.

I'm also working out the premise of another project, and writing some songs here and there. I can't play any instruments, so I'm trying to make music electronically as well as I can, but it can be hard to find a good guitar, bass, or electric guitar VST that is free and sounds authentic. I'll figure it out eventually, though.

That's basically all I've got to say tonight. I'm exhausted, weirdly enough, considering I haven't done much this week. I guess it's because I've got some things coming up that I need to have enough energy for. I'm not sure.

Thank you for reading this far, if you have. I appreciate it. I hope to post again and show some of my writing very soon, as I'm fairly proud of it. Thank you for being here. Take care!