Character Dynamics

11/15/2022

Well, I've been awake since 5 PM yesterday (it is currently 9 AM), and have consumed enough caffeine to kill a lesser man, but I assure you, I'm very much fine.

I'm writing more of my book, and have finally gotten to scenes where characters that haven't seen one another in several years finally see each other. It's both bittersweet and very odd, as at the end of the day, my protagonist knows that this means he could die at the end of it all. He has extremely conflicting feelings about the things he's going through, and going to continue to go through, for the next forseeable books. I imagine this series being four books total, with a prequel at some point, and maybe even a prequel to the prequel, as one of my favorite characters refuses to leave me alone in terms of his story. He's compelling, what can I say?

I do find their dynamics fascinating, however. The three of them have different temperaments; the older member of the group is very patient with a great sense of humor. The protagonist is hot-headed and young, and seems to think he has to prove himself constantly. And the third, only younger by a few months, is calm, but he can come across as a bit defensive. They're all uniquely good people, and uniquely horrible people at the same time. They're all trying to survive in their world as anyone else. But sometimes survival boils down to do-or-die, I guess.

On the other end of things, I've also been trying to come up with more art to do, more ideas for ways to draw my characters. I found a wonderful collection of references and resources for anatomy, so I'm hoping that when I'm on vacation and visiting family in a week or so, I'll have plenty of time to practice figure drawing and anatomy. I'm looking forward to a break from sitting in these same four walls I tend to occupy, and instead occupy another set of four walls.

I do genuinely enjoy spending time with my family. I love them, and since I don't get to see these relatives super often every year, I always want to spend as much time as possible with them. But I do find the more days I spend with them, the more exhausted I become. I think it has to do with the fact that, with them, I'm masking on a consistent basis. It takes a lot out of you to conceal the innate traits of yourself, the things that make you weird and wonderful, for a consecutive two weeks. All day, every day.

Hopefully, though, I won't have to mask too much. And a huge bonus is, because where I'll be is quiet, I can be outside more and get some much needed sunlight, even if it is freezing cold now. Can you believe only a week ago it was still practically summer, and overnight, it's gone to being in the 40s during the day? It's like nothing seems to know what to do with itself. The weather has been sunny and gloomy and sunny again, and rain and frost and sun and wind all cascade into one another, colliding and bumbling about like they always do this time of the year. At the very least, I can now confidently say I know which clothing to pack when I go visit.

That being said, I may not get to update this blog much in the coming weeks. I'll be busy, but I'll try to do my best to set aside some time to say hello to all of you! It's very lovely knowing there are people out there who read these entries. Even if I don't know your names or faces, I do enjoy knowing that people find time to see the things I put out there into the aether.

I hope you're all staying safe and warm. Or, if you're in the southern hemisphere, I hope you stay cool as it warms up down there. I hope November treats you all out there with comfort. Another year is coming to a close, meaning we've survived another one on this strange planet. That's a comfort to me, at least.